A UoH professor selected for the SGAT 2021 award of excellence


Hyderabad: The Society of Geoscientists and Allied Technologists (SGAT) selected Dr KS Krishna, professor of geophysics and director of the Center for Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences at the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad for the prize of excellence SGAT 2021.

SGAT is based in Bhubaneswar and is dedicated to mining activities in India.

The award will be presented to Bhubaneswar at the Society’s annual general meeting on December 18, 2021.

UoH Vice-Chancellor Professor BJ Rao congratulated Dr Krishna on receiving the prestigious award.

Dr Krishna said: “I am glad that my continued research at UoH and its work atmosphere has helped me maintain my work vigor.”

Dr Krishna holds a PhD in Marine Geophysics from Andhra University and specializes in lithospheric dynamics, tectonics, plate tectonics and marine geophysics. He is the recipient of the 2001 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in the discipline of Earth, Atmospheric, Ocean and Planetary Sciences. He is a member of Indian Academy of Sciences Bangalore (since 2002), Indian Geophysical Union (since 2002), National Academy of Sciences India (since 2010), Indian National Science Academy (since 2013 ) and Andhra Pradesh Academi. of Sciences Hyderabad (since 2011).

He has received numerous awards, including the JC Bose National Fellowship (2001); MS Krishnan Medal from the Indian Geophysical Union for 1996; Decennial Award from the Indian Geophysical Union for 2010; National Geosciences Award 2010 in recognition of contributions in the field of ocean development; Annie Talwani Memorial Prize, Indian Geophysical Union, 2013; Dr. S. Balakrishna Memorial Lecture Award (Telangana Academy of Sciences), 2016; and the National Excellence Award in Geosciences and Technology 2017 from the Ministry of Earth Sciences, New Delhi.


About Lucille Thompson

Check Also

The Moon Has Had Volcanoes More Recently Than We Thought

Fifty years ago, NASA and the Soviet space program conducted the first sample-return missions from …